Obtaining A Driver’s License (Work Permit) After A Dui Arrest In Oklahoma
Lawyers always expound on the fact that each case is different and the specific facts and circumstances unique to each case help to determine its outcome. It is imperative that you consult an attorney in person before making important legal decisions which may have long term consequences that affect the rest of your life. After getting arrested for a DUI, in Oklahoma and getting your driving privileges suspended people generally apply to get a work permit which is a modified driver’s license. The state of Oklahoma is considering enacting a law allowing people a work permit to drive to and from work without an interlock but currently is using the modified driver’s license system that enables people to drive anywhere and not just to and from work.
In the state of Oklahoma, a DUI defendant has 15 calendar days to request an administrative hearing for their driver’s license from the date of their arrest. 15 days may not seem important and you might even waive your right to a hearing thinking of bypassing the extra costs involved however this is far from the truth. In fact it can cost you more money in the long run to waive you right to a driver’s license hearing. The laws in the state of Oklahoma require that everyone who either gets convicted of a DUI or tests above the BAC limit or refuses a breath/blood test must have an ignition interlock device installed in their car at a cost of at least $75 dollars per month unless proper actions are taken to request an administrative hearing for your driver’s license.
Oklahoma legislature passed a series of laws to get tougher on DUI offenses owing to public pressure and lobbying groups. These laws generally entail that failing to request an administrative hearing within 15 days or getting convicted of a DUI offense or losing your administrative driver’s license hearing can result in extremely severe consequences. Again, it is important to remember that you get a free driver’s license without an interlock for 90 days to over 6 months. If you win at your administrative hearing, then you can get your license back without imposition of an interlock device. Another important advantage in requesting the administrative hearing is that it delays the defendant having to pay a hefty administrative fees for a temporary driver’s license while going to court at a time when they are struggling to pay their attorney as well as trying to complete all court requirements such as DUI School etc.
People generally face a lot of difficulty when paying the bond fees, paying their attorney, completing court requirements, and trying to pay for a modified driver’s license all at once and the extra 90 days to 6 months is a boon for them when they attempt to do so. The drawback is that if the administrative hearing is lost then the only way to obtain a modified driver’s license is by appealing the decision to the District Court which results in yet more expenses. It includes court costs of about $150 plus a cash only appeal bond of $250 along with any additional attorney fees to appeal to District Court in order to get a modified driver’s license.
If you have been arrested for a DUI in Oklahoma, then you require the services of a competent DUI Defense law practice such as Worden Law Firm to make sure you get the best possible outcome in your case.