Prostitution In Kansas
- Under new legislation, a first-time prostitution offense is charged as a Class-A misdemeanor
- Maximum penalties can include a $2500 fine and a 12-month jail sentence
- For a first-time offense, Attorney Cramm sees probation in lieu of jail
Under the new law the Kansas state legislature has recently passed, first-time offenders face a class-A person misdemeanor offense, so long as they do not have any prior prostitution-related offenses on their record. Before this law was passed, offenders faced a class-C misdemeanor offense. The mandatory minimum penalty is a $2,500 fine, in addition to any other sentence imposed, and up to a year in county jail.
Judges frequently impose a 12-month underlying sentence and suspend that sentence in lieu of a probation contract. As long as the person convicted satisfies all the terms of the probation contract, they will not need to serve the time in custody.
Second or subsequent charges for prostitution is a severity level nine felony offense that is prosecuted in the district court with a mandatory minimum fine of $5,000 separate from any other sentence or probation imposed.
Call the law firm of Paul D. Cramm at (913) 322-3265 today for an initial consultation to discuss your prostitution case. My obligation as your criminal defense lawyer is to ensure you get the best outcome possible.
I represent clients accused of prostitution throughout the Kansas City Metro area, including the municipalities of Johnson County, De Soto, Gardner, Leawood, Lenexa, Merriam, Mission, Olathe, Overland Park, Prairie Village and Shawnee.
Call For Consultation
- What Is the Difference between Solicitation and Prostitution?
- Is It Possible to Have the Criminal Record Sealed for a Prostitution-Related Charge in Kansas?
- Is It Difficult to Convince Clients That Prostitution-Related Charges Are Defensible?
- How Do the Police Avoid Entrapment when Conducting a Sting Operation?
- How Defensible Is Your Prostitution Case?